And female. Is there hope?

My new diagnosis….social media addiction.

In Addiction, Blog stats, Blog views, Blogging, Internet addiction, New Media, Social media, Social Network on April 29, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Please know I’m kidding….mostly.

I jumped in (I mean REALLY jumped in) to social media about one month ago, and the experience has been fantastic. However, I’m noticing some significant changes in my behavior. For example…..constant checking of  blog stats, heart-rate increases when blog views are up, semi-depressed when views plummet. More “external” ones include…skipping meals, blowing off the gym, almost violent when interrupted while at computer, mind racing with all sorts of ideas, and exhaustion.

Having worked in the field of behavioral health, I know such behavior might concern some. But awareness is half the problem solved, as they say. I’d like to think it’s because I’m enjoying myself, passionate about what I’m doing, and fully embracing the fast pace of new media.  I’ve tasted such exhilaration before, as I had a pretty successful stint in sales.

It’s often a fine line between genuine adrenaline and well, pure insanity. I’m not worried though as I’ve already learned the importance of balance in my life. I know I need to slow down, maybe turn back on that Mindfulness Bell app and hit the gym.

Nonetheless, I’ll take a shot of adrenaline any day.

Leave a Reply

