And female. Is there hope?

Motorola Droid. An example of the lack of women in technology?

In Android 2.0, Google, Meetup, Motorola Droid, Smartphone, smartphones, Technology Meetups, Verizon Motorola Droid on April 26, 2010 at 12:48 pm

I have yet to meet, in person, another woman who owns a Motorola Droid. The phone’s touted as one of the best android phones on the market. Sure the design isn’t very female friendly, but is that really why women aren’t buying it? Some argue the marketing targets men. If all I watched was sports and Two and a Half Men on TV, then maybe. But somehow I saw the commercials.

Also… I’ve been a longtime member of Meetup, a terrific site whose mission is to connect people online so they can then meet offline. Recently I joined some Meetup groups focused on mobile technology. I’ve been to 5 so far, and at only two was there one other female.

Don’t get me wrong…there are very many talented women in technology. I’m just surprised at the prevalence of men.

Leave a Reply

