And female. Is there hope?

The beginning blogger’s biggest milestone…your very first view.

In Beginner Wordpress, Beginning blogging, Blogging, Blogging 101, Reviews, Wordpress on April 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

For any newbie, it’s tough to stay motivated when no one is viewing your blog. I admit, I’m not out there aggressively pushing this thing, asking friends and people I pass on the sidewalk to tune in.  I honestly haven’t told anyone about this because I’m afraid they’d laugh their ass off! To me, the real accomplishment is in having someone I don’t know view it. So here I plug away, rewriting certain posts umpteen times believing….”if I just changed this wording, more will come.” But day in and day out….no one. 

Then POW. There it was in my stats….a view. Yeah a single view, but damn, a view. Someone, somewhere, looked at my blog! Maybe this sounds pathetic to a professional blogger, and maybe your average newbie is experiencing much more views intially and a single view REALLY IS PATHETIC. But screw it, for me it’s huge.

You know the schpeel about taking baby steps…I think as adults we often place unrealistic expectations on ourselves. We think…I should be able to do this…hell, I’m an adult! But when reality falls short of expectations…we’re quick to heave in the towel. Screw it, we think. DONE.

I don’t know if there is a “standard” in terms of blog growth ( I need to research this)…but I’m all for celebrating those teeny goals. And seeing that single view made my day.

Pathetic? perhaps. But personally? Woo-hoo!!

Leave a Reply

